School Governors


The school governors, like a company’s board of directors, have the general responsibility for the effective management of the school, acting within the framework of Government legislation and West Berkshire Local Authority policies. Details decisions about the day-to-day running of the school are taken by the Headteacher who reports to, and consults with, the governing board on a regular basis.

Meeting once a month, our governors have statutory legal duties, powers and responsibilities to decide what is taught (the curriculum), set standards of behaviour, appoint staff and decide how the school budget is spent. Governors are also involved in the life of the school by attending events, meeting with staff and parents and maintaining good communications at all times. They also help to provide a high standard of education and strive to ensure that our pupils are given the best possible foundation for their future education and life in the community.

The Instrument of Government for the school was reconstituted with effect from 11 February 2015. It sets out the exact size and composition of the governing board. The chair/vice chair positions are elected annually by governing board members. The school’s governing board currently consists of:

  • 2 x parent governors (elected by parents of children at the school)
  • 1 x Local Authority governors (appointed by West Berkshire Council)
  • 1 x staff governor
  • 1 x Headteacher
  • 7 x co-opted governors (appointed by governing board members).

  Schools are required to publish certain information about the Governing Board; download the table for more information: GB Information on a Website 2016-17.

Meet the Governors by left clicking here : Governor Profile 2017-18

Category of governor* Name of governor Appointed by Term of office Committee membership Any position of responsibility***
Parent  Lynne Phillips Elected by parents  13.10.2016 – 12.10.2020  Finance  SEN&D
Parent Nigel Parkinson Elected by parents 6.12.2014 –  05.12.2018 Finance, H&S Chair Finance, Safeguarding
Local Authority Chris Burnell  The Governing Board and LA 16.09.2015 – 15.9.2019 Finance  Chair of Governors,
Staff Angie Morley Elected by staff  29.02.2016 – 29.02.2020
Head teacher Chris Davis Ex officio
Co-opted Matt Waghorn  The Governing Board  11.1.2017 – 10.10.2021
Co-opted Helen Sayers The governing board 11.02.2015 – 10.2.2019  Vice Chair, Equalities Objective
Co-opted Tina Skipworth The governing board 11.02.2015 – 10.2.2019
Co-opted Ginette Kilroy The governing board 11.02.2015 – 10.2.2019  Vice Chair, Data, ICT, online Safety
Co-opted  Chris Ellison The governing board  10.2.2016 – 09.02.2020

Pauline Ford Clerk to the Governors

Newsletters from the Governors

Governor Newsletter Autumn 2016

Governor Newsletter Spring 2016

Francis Baily Governance Development Plan (Feb 16)

FB Governing Board Annual Report 2014-15

Governors Newsletter-Spring-2015

Minutes of Meetings

Approved minutes of meetings of the governing board are available for downloading below


Minutes 11 October 2017

Minutes 13 September 2017

Minutes 12 July 2017

Minutes 21 June 2017

Minutes 17 May 2017

Minutes 27 April 2017

Minutes 15 March 2017

Minutes 11 January 2017


Minutes 16 November 2016

Minutes 12 October 2016



Minutes 18 May 2016

Minutes 17 April 2016

Minutes 21 March 2016

Minutes 10 February 2016

Minutes 13 January 2016


Minutes 9 December 2015

Minutes 11November 2015

Minutes 14 October 2015

Minutes 16 September 2015

Minutes 24 June 2015

Minutes 20 May 2015

Minutes 25 March 2015

Minutes 11 February 2015

Minutes 14 January 2015